Republican Candidates Draw Ballot Positions for 2020 Primary Election

December 21, 2019

The Ballot Draw for candidate placement on the Navarro County Republican Primary Election was conducted Thursday, December 19 at the party’s headquarters.

Mike Dowd, Navarro County Tax Assessor / Collector, drew the numbers, while Party Secretary Steven Jessup recorded the ballot placement, and County Chair Eric R. Meyers officially entered the data into the Texas Secretary of State’s website.

Local Republican candidates in contested races will appear on the March 3, 2020 primary as stated:


Criminal District Attorney Navarro County:

William “Will” Dixon

Will Thompson


Navarro County Sheriff:

Elmer Tanner

David Foreman


County Commissioner Precinct 3:

Kevin Matthews

Eddie Moore


County Constable Precinct 2:

Charles Paul

Roy Ivey


Navarro County Tax Assessor / Collector Mike Dowd randomly draws the 2020 Primary ballot order numbers for each candidate.

“We also want to congratulate all of our GOP candidates for entering each of the respective races, and look forward to working with everyone through the March Primary.” Meyers stated.  “Each one of our candidates are dedicating time, money, and effort to run their race, and for their willingness to serve, we say thank you.”

As of the close of filing and announcement of certified candidates, no county candidates face Democrat opposition.

For a complete list of candidates, visit

Posted in General Articles.