23 Candidates Join the Race to Replace Late U.S. Representative Ron Wright

By Patrick Svitek — Texas Tribune

March 6, 2021

A crowd of 23 candidates — including 11 Republicans and 10 Democrats — has filed for the May 1 special election to fill the seat of the late U.S. Representative Ron Wright, R-Arlington, according to the Secretary Of State’s office.  The filing deadline was 5:00 pm Wednesday, March 3.  The race also attracted one Independent and one Libertarian.

Ron Wright died last month after being hospitalized with COVID-19.  He had also been battling lung cancer.  His death created a vacancy in the Republican-leaning Sixth Congressional District, which spreads southeast from the Dallas-Fort Worth area to rural Ellis and Navarro counties.

The district has been getting increasingly competitive in statewide results, with Trump carrying it by only 3 percentage points last year.  However, Ron Wright won it by more healthier margins, when he was first elected in 2018 and then re-elected in 2020.  National Democrats targeted the seat that year, but it remains to be seen how involved they plan to be in the special election.

Early voting starts April 19.

Editor Note:

A list of Republican candidate websites is shown on the Your GOP / Statewide Candidate webpage.  This is a “free-for-all” election with Republicans, Democrats, Independents, and Libertarians on the same ballot.  If no candidate garners 50%, then a run-off election will occur between the top two vote getters, even though the top two candidates may belong to the same party.  This is not a Primary Election.

The order of Republican candidates listed on the ballot are:

Michael Ballantine

Brian Harrison

Dan Rodimer

Travis Rodermund

Susan Wright

Mike Egan

Jenny Garcia Sharon

John Anthony Castro

Sery Kim

Jake Ellzey

Michael Wood

Republican Headquarters currently has yardsigns available for Brian Harrison, Susan Wright, and Mike Egan.

Posted in General Articles.